Online Editions

19th Oct, 2021

Team News: Spencer returns to face old club Bath

Aaron Wise 4th Jan, 2018

LOCK Will Spencer returns to the Warriors starting line-up against his former club Bath at Sixways tomorrow night (kick-off 7.45pm).

Spencer is the only change from the side that picked up a try bonus-point in the defeat to Saracens last weekend.

In the back three, Josh Adams looks to continue his hot scoring streak after having crossed in each of his last six Aviva Premiership appearances.

With nine league tries to his name, Adams is just one shy of becoming Warriors’ highest-ever try-scorer in a Premiership season, as he gets set to overtake Miles Benjamin and Cooper Vuna.

The Welshman is joined in the back three by powerful Kiwi winger Bryce Heem and full-back Chris Pennell, with the latter looking to continue his fine form with the boot, having landed 33 points in his previous three Premiership outings.

Ryan Mills, who signed a long-term deal with the club earlier this week, is joined by Jackson Willison in the centre, while Springbok star Francois Hougaard partners Sam Olver in the half-back combination.

Ethan Waller, Jack Singleton and Gareth Milasinovich start in the front row, whilst skipper Donncha O’Callaghan and Spencer get the nod in the second row.

Former Bath forward David Denton starts against his old club in the back row alongside Sam Lewis and GJ van Velze.

Joe Taufete’e is back in the squad among the replacements.


Warriors side to face Bath:

15 Chris Pennell, 14 Bryce Heem, 13 Jackson Willison, 12 Ryan Mills, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Sam Olver, 9 Francois Hougaard, 1 Ethan Waller, 2 Jack Singleton, 3 Gareth Milasinovich, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan (C), 5 Will Spencer, 6 David Denton, 7 Sam Lewis, 8 GJ van Velze

Replacements: 16 Joe Taufete’e, 17 Ryan Bower, 18 Simon Kerrod, 19 Darren Barry, 20 Alafoti Faosiliva, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Jamie Shillcock, 23 Perry Humphreys


Bath side to face Warriors:

15, Anthony Watson, 14 Jack Wilson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Ben Tapuai, 11 Aled Brew, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Chris Cook, 1 Beno Obano, 2 Tom Dunn, 3 Henry Thomas, 4 James Phillips, 5 Elliott Stooke, 6 Matt Garvey (C), 7 Paul Grant, 8 Zach Mercer

Replacements: 16 Michael van Vuuren, 17 Lucas Noguera, 18 Max Lahiff, 19 Levi Douglas, 20 Josh Bayliss, 21 Kahn Fotuali’i, 22 Freddie Burns, 23 James Wilson

Book an Advert

Book your newspaper advert with our online advert creation tool.

Digital Advertising

Advertise on the Worcester Observer to boost your online presence.

Public Notices

View and download all of the public notices in the Worcester Observer.

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.