21st Sep, 2019

PCA honour for captain marvel Mitchell

Worcester Editorial 9th Oct, 2014 Updated: 19th Oct, 2016

WORCESTERSHIRE skipper Daryl Mitchell was rewarded for an excellent personal season by being named captain of the Professional Cricketers’ Association (PCA) team of the year.

The 30-year-old led by example as the Pears won promotion back to Division One of the LV= County Championship after a two-year absence.

Mitchell scored nearly 2,000 runs in all competitions, including more than 1,300 in the Championship, featuring five centuries.

The Badsey-born batsman and Kent’s Darren Stevens were the only representatives of Division Two in the LV= County Championship in the team of the year named during the ceremony in London.

The awards have been coming thick and fast for Mitchell, who also lifted the county’s own Dick Lygon Award at their awards ceremony.

It is awarded to the best team player, embracing all forms of cricket, who also made significant contributions off the pitch.

The full PCA team of the year is: Adam Lyth (Yorkshire) Daryl Mitchell (Worcestershire), Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Tom Smith (Lancashire), Darren Stevens (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Jack Brooks (Yorkshire), Jeetan Patel (Warwickshire), James Anderson (Lancashire).

Business Directory

From plumbers, to restaurants, we can provide you with all the info you need.

Property Finder 24/7

Search for properties in Worcestershire, Warwickshire and the West Midlands.

Book an Advert

Book your newspaper advert with our online advert creation tool.


Receive a weekly update to your inbox by signing up to our weekly newsletter.