Conservatives hail county council results as 'clear endorsement' - The Worcester Observer

Conservatives hail county council results as 'clear endorsement'

Worcester Editorial 5th May, 2017 Updated: 5th May, 2017   0

CONSERVATIVE county council leader Coun Simon Geraghty has hailed the Worcestershire County Council election results as a ‘clear endorsement’ of his parties plan to take the county forward.

Coun Geraghty retained his Riverside seat with an increased majority of 567 votes as the Conservatives in Worcester gained Claines from the Liberal Democrats to hold five of the city’s 10 seats.

Coun Andy Stafford will represent the area for the Conservatives after picking up 1,543 votes which was enough to defeat the Liberal Democrats Mel Allcott who notched 1,096 votes.

Coun Alan Amos retained Bedwardine for the Conservatives by more than 600 votes from Labour’s Daniel Walton after a bad tempered campaign which ended in acrimony when Coun Amos refused the offer of a handshake from Mr Walton.

Coun Ceri Stalker won the Gorse Hill and Warndon ward back for Labour following Coun Amos success for the party in 2013 before his defection to the Conservatives.

Coun Pat Agar retained her Nunnery seat comfortably as did Coun Paul Denham in Rainbow Hill while Coun Richard Udall held St John’s for Labour.

Coun Andy Roberts held the Warndon Parish seat for the Conservatives while Green Party county councillor Matthew Jenkins retained his St Stephen seat.

The party’s efforts to take the St Peter’s seat saw Jane Moorhouse finish second with an impressive 1,363 votes behind the Conservative’s Steve Mackay who won with 2,014 votes.

Worcester’s elections results in full


Alan Amos (Conservative)           – 1,460 ELECTED

Daniel Daye (Green Party)           – 140

Paul Hickling (UKIP)                    – 126

Mike Mullins (Lib Dem)              – 218

Daniel Walton (Labour)              – 808


Mel Allcott (Liberal Democrat)   – 1,096

Mark Hulme (UKIP)                         – 99

Robert Lodge (Labour)                  – 446

Peter Robinson (Green Party)    – 197

Andy Stafford (Conservative)     – 1,543 ELECTED

Gorse Hill and Warndon:

Linda Bell (British Resistance)     – 39

Owen Cleary (UKIP)                       – 276

Phoenix Jones (Conservative)    – 587

Paul Snookes (Green Party)        – 105

Ceri Stalker (Labour)                    – 923 ELECTED


Pat Agar (Labour)                                             – 1,049 ELECTED

Jon Barras (UKIP)                                             – 148

Karen Lawrance (Liberal Democrat)           – 81

Carl Mason (British Resistance)                  – 11

Chris Mitchell (Conservative)                      – 708

Barbara Mitra (Green Party)                       – 125

Rainbow Hill:

Marjory Bisset (Green Party)                      – 150

David Carney (UKIP)                                       – 112

Paul Denham (Labour)                                   – 1,027 ELECTED

Francis Lankester (Conservative)              – 615

Alex Rugg (Independent)                             – 37

Jon Taylor (Liberal Democrat)                     – 71

Leisa Taylor (Women’s Equality Party)    – 66


Ken Carpenter (Liberal Democrat)            – 211

Hannah Cooper (Green Party)                   – 238

Lynn Denham (Labour)                                – 994

Hazel Finch (UKIP)                                         – 122

Simon Geraghty (Conservative)                   – 1,561 ELECTED

St John:

Irene Deamer (Conservative)                     – 481

Steve Mather (Liberal Democrat)             – 71

Rob Menzies (UKIP)                                       – 102

Richard Morris (Green Party)                      – 91

Richard Udall (Labour)                                   – 1,003 ELECTED

St Peter:

John Beacham (UKIP)                    – 107

Steve Mackay (Conservative)     – 2,014 ELECTED

Jane Moorhouse (Green Party) – 1,363

Stephen Tallett (Labour)               – 347

St Stephen:

Paul Boyes (UKIP)                            – 133

Alan Feeney (Conservative)        – 855

Saiful Islam (Labour)                       – 477

Matthew Jenkins (Green Party)      – 1,554 ELECTED

Warndon Parish:

Jacqueline Burnett (UKIP)                                            – 154

Darrell Butler (Liberal Democrat)                               – 215

Alison Morgan (Green Party)                                      – 136

Paul Mountain (Labour and Co-Op Party)              – 596

Andy Roberts (Conservative)                                     –  1,564 ELECTED


We can provide all of your printing needs at competitive rates.


Find a career you'll love with our free career finder website.


Advertise with the Worcester Observer to reach your audience

Reader Travel

Check out all of the latest reader travel offers to get your hands on some free gifts.